Skip to content

“I have heard the meringues singing, each to each.”

August 13, 2013
by

Meringues in Pan
Ever since Hélène got me a KitchenAid ice cream attachment, I have been making a ton of ice cream and using a ton of egg yolks. My freezer is already full enough with ice cream and now it’s been increasingly piling up with small tupperwares of egg whites! #problems

I got a bit ambitious and thought I’d make five egg whites’ worth of meringues. OH MAN that’s a lot. I really recommend three at most, unless you’re feeding a baseball team, which I resorted too after I ended up with the most meringues ever. Luckily, Hélène’s parents were also visiting and were happy to help with the extras. It did help that I made three kinds, so it felt like I was mixing it up a little. 

Meringues Three Kinds

Meringues: Chocolate, Vanilla Bean, Violet

Egg whites (as many as you think you can handle)
1/4 cup sugar per egg white
Pinch of salt

Added ingredients:
1 tsp cocoa powder per egg white
1 tsp vanilla extract or vanilla powder per egg white
1/8 tsp violet extract per egg white

Beat the egg whites with whisk or in a stand mixer until frothy. Add a pinch of salt then continue to beat until very soft peaks form. Add a third of the sugar, beat until incorporated, then add the other two thirds separately, beating to mix in thoroughly. Continue to beat the egg whites until you have very stiff peaks. The egg whites should look glossy. I tend to go until I think they might be ready and then do another 30 seconds at least, since I always underestimate!

Divide the meringues into as many bowls as you want flavours, then add whatever you like to each bowl. Incorporate by whisking and make sure the stiff peaks remain.

Preheat oven to 175˚. You can either make large meringues by dolloping spoonfuls onto a pan with parchment paper, or use a pastry bag/tool to pipe small rounds. I did a combination of both, because it was TOO MUCH piping five egg whites of meringues.

The meringues will need to bake for about an hour and a half, the smaller ones possibly for less time. It really depends on whether the temperature in your oven is constant and accurate. I have a gas oven, so mine was neither, but it was pretty easy to tell when the meringues were ready – I employed the tasting method! They will brown very slightly but should not brown much. The goal is essentially to dry them out.

Enjoy as a dessert with tea, as a snack with berries, or on the baseball field after a crushing loss! I enjoyed them in all three of these contexts.

Meringues in Jars

One Comment leave one →
  1. Annie permalink
    August 26, 2013 8:19 am

    And they were so good! I really liked the violet ones…

Leave a Reply

