Skip to content

“The Picture of Dorian Earl Grey” Cookies

August 24, 2012

Katie C came over to see the new place yesterday and since she’s been such a fabulous guest poster on the blog, I wanted to make sure to make something delicious. But, I only had about 20 minutes since I’d been wallpapering my bathroom all morning (ugh) and I only had a quarter cup of butter. I made up this recipe as I went, and it was great – it made 10 cookies, which seemed like a perfect amount for having a friend for tea plus a few to snack on in the next few days. There’s also no egg so this recipe could easily be made vegan (I actually used half Earth Balance because my butter stores were REALLY low!)

1/4 cup butter at room temperature
just less than 1/2 cup sugar
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp vanilla
a few twists of salt
1/2 cup flour
1/2 tsp loose leaf earl grey, crushed with a mortar and pestle.
optional: lavender (my tea already had lavender in it)

Preheat oven to 375˚. Beat butter and sugar together, then add vanilla and salt, then flour and tea. Mix to combine, then roll 1″ balls in sugar and place on cookie sheet – far apart, since these cookies do spread. Bake for about 10 minutes until the edges brown. Cool for a few minutes, then transfer to a plate! Done and done.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

