Skip to content

“Blueberries for Sal” Pancakes

August 22, 2012

These amazing lemon ricotta pancakes were featured on Smitten Kitchen in 2007 (post here), before I started reading the blog, so I completely missed them. Luckily, my wonderful foodie friend Alyson from my nursing program not only unearthed them but also suggested the best addition ever: blueberries. I liked them cooked in, but a blueberry compote on top of the pancakes would be good too.

Did any of you read Blueberries for Sal as kids? It’s a wonderful book about a little girl (Sal) who goes blueberry picking with her mother and encounters a bear and her cub, also eating blueberries. Like me with this blog post, Sal does absolutely none of the actual work: Alyson and Deb came up with this recipe for me, and Sal (unsurprisingly) eats all the blueberries she’s supposed to be putting into her pail. But Sal and I both come out on top in the end. She gets her blueberry jam for the winter, and I get this amazing blueberry lemon ricotta pancake recipe, which I’m going to make again and again.

Pancakes
3 large eggs
1 1/3 cups ricotta
1 1/2 tablespoons sugar
zest from one lemon
1/2 cup all-purpose flour

Combine egg yolks only with ricotta sugar and lemon zest, then add the flour. In a separate bowl, beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form. Fold egg whites into the other mixture. You have a pretty unlikely-looking batter at this point, but don’t worry – it really does turn out well.

Melt a small dab of butter into your pan then add batter in rounds, adding blueberries on top of the batter as soon as you pour it in. I like to do it this way rather than stirring the blueberries into the batter so that there’s even distribution amongst the pancakes and no one is sad!

Serve with maple syrup and a berry-based fruit salad.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 23, 2012 5:06 am

    Yes! That’s how I add blueberries to pancakes too. My rationale is to maximize the number of blueberries per pancake. Glad you liked them!!

Leave a Reply

