Skip to content

Bretagne Salted Caramel Ice Cream

August 5, 2012

I finished my first year of nursing school last week and am at the beginning of a glorious month off. This recipe takes a while so I had been saving it for when I had a little more time and when it actually started to feel like summer!

FUN TIMES

I’ve had some caramel fails in my lifetime and I was a bit nervous about undertaking a caramel ice cream but this one is pretty foolproof – all you have to do is heat the sugar to a ‘dark amber’ so it’s really not complicated. You can let it go a bit longer if you want that burnt taste or cut it off at a lighter amber if you want something less bitter.

The best advice I have for this recipe and other custard-based ice creams is to really not freak out at the custard stage. Just at the moment my custard reached its temperature mark, I realized that I had no idea where our sieve is (we just moved). I stared in dismay at the glumpy mess and went through the mental battle of whether it was actually necessary to strain. Believe me: it is. But despite my iffy straining method (see right), the end result was quite smooth, especially once chilled.

The end result is AMAZING – so rich that one scoop really is enough. Epicurious describes it as ‘sultry’!

Salted Caramel Ice Cream
Adapted from Epicurious

1 1/4 cups sugar
2 cups whipping cream
1/2 teaspoon sea salt (I used sea salt from Bretagne)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/4 cup milk
3 eggs

In a saucepan, heat 1 cup sugar on medium heat, swirling the pan until all the sugar is dissolved and the liquid turns dark amber. Pour in 1 cup heavy cream, make sure the sugar dissolves completely then remove from heat. I had to turn down the heat to simmer because my mixture kept bubbling over.

Pour this mixture into a bowl, add salt and vanilla and cool to room temperature.

Beat eggs in a large bowl, then bring milk, remaining 1 cup cream and remaining 1/4 cup sugar just to a boil. Turn down heat to medium, then slowly pour half the mixture into the eggs, beating constantly. On the stove, heat the mixture to 170˚ (use a candy thermometer) then STRAIN and combine with caramel.

Cool in the fridge overnight, then mix in a donvier. You’ll have a soft-serve consistency at this point, and you can freeze it in a container to get it firmer before serving. I found the salt a bit mild so you could sprinkle a few flakes on top before serving.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

