Skip to content

What to do with Root Vegetables: Parsnip and Gruyere Gratin

February 7, 2012

I get the New York Times delivered on Sundays and because I’m a grad student I rarely have time to read even one one-thousandth of that behemoth publication. But I do enjoy Mark Bittman’s food section in every NYT magazine. Last week, he gave several easy recipes using root vegetables – the seasonal winter staples that can get very very dull by February. My plan is to make this post a bit of a series – and I challenge my co-blogger, Allie, to join in!

Personally, I think parsnips are an under-estimated vegetable. I first came to this conclusion back in December when I made mashed sweet potatoes and parsnips with cream and herbs for my bf and myself. They were approximately 246x better than any plain old mashed potatoes anywhere. This Parnsip and Gruyere gratin has a wonderful flavour and is super easy. I added in the garlic and celery.

  • 1 pound parsnips, sliced
  • 1 pound yukon gold potatoes, sliced
  • 1 1/2 cups grated gruyere cheese (you’ll need a whole block, probably)
  • 2 stalks celery, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, diced
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • Fresh thyme
  1. Preheat oven to 400 F. Slice, dice and grate the above.
  2. Warm cream in a saucepan. Meanwhile, set down a layer of potato and parsnip in a medium baking dish. Sprinkle some of celery, garlic and thyme and a good helping of gruyere. Add some salt and pepper if desired. Repeat with a second layer of everything. (or a 3rd depending on the size of your baking dish. Just make sure you finish with cheese).
  3. Pour cream over layered gratin until it comes about 3/4 of the way up. You might not need all the cream to achieve this.
  4. Bake for 20-30 minutes. Until cheese is melted and bubbly. Garnish with a little more thyme.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

