Skip to content

Thanksgiving Menu: First Course

October 9, 2011

I realized this week that one more wonderful thing about fall at The Dough Also Rises is that we will be having TWO Thanksgivings a year for as long as Katie and I are in different countries! I think this gives us all liberty to have two giant fall meals no matter where we live, don’t you? Canadian Thanksgiving is this weekend, and I don’t know whether I’m more excited about the extra day off or the outrageous amount of eating I’m doing……okay, I’m more excited about the eating.

Yesterday, my wonderful friend Allen came for lunch, visiting from Montreal where he’s doing his PhD. Not only did he bring us Montreal cheese curds and an amazing raspberry rhubarb pie, but he was also (as always) a wonderful companion and a joy to cook for. We made a big Thanksgiving lunch where I tried out some new things and kept to some great Thanksgiving stand-bys. Here’s the first course of our meal, and the rest will follow tomorrow!

Curried Pumpkin Soup

1 small pumpkin (I used one that just fit in both my hands)
1/2 onion, sauteed2 cloves garlic, sautéed with the onion
1 bouillon cube
1 tsp coriander
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp turmeric
1 tsp zested ginger
salt and pepper
dash of cayenne (optional)

Cut the pumpkin into quarters or sixths, coat with olive oil and roast in the oven until tender. While it’s cooking, sauté the onion and garlic until tender and browned. Blend the onion mixture and the pumpkin (after removing the skins) in the food processor with enough water so that it blends properly. Combine this mixture with 1 cup water and the rest of the ingredients and heat on the stove until warm. This makes a thinner soup that serves 3 people as a starter, so you can adjust the water and rest of the ingredients accordingly.

Kale Chips

This was really a wild dish for me, since I’ve spent most of my life being extremely wary of cooked greens. The biggest thing for me is the weird texture, so I’ve been playing around a lot with blended greens (soups and saag paneer) and very finely chopped greens (potato and kale soup). I can’t believe it took me this long to realize that crispy greens are really the tops. As everyone has always said and I refused to believe, kale chips are the most wonderful thing. I promise you that even if you (think that you) hate kale you should definitely run out to the grocery store right now and buy a bunch for this recipe.

Adapted from Epicurious.

1 bunch kale (I like the curly kale for this recipe)
1 tbsp olive oil
sea salt
ground pepper

Cut the middle stem out of the kale leaves, leaving only the dark green softer leaves on either side. Tear into bite-sized pieces and toss well with oil, salt and pepper. Spread onto a baking pan (I like to do this on foil so the oil doesn’t bake on to the pan) and bake at 250F for approximately 30 minutes or until the leaves are crispy. These can be eaten right out of the oven or later on at room temperature.

Parsnip Chips

If I had told Allen he was coming over for kale, parsnips and pumpkin, he probably wouldn’t have shown up at all. It does seem a little overly wholesome to me, but parsnip chips really are delicious. All you need is a parsnip – slice it thinly, then bake at 400F, lightly brushed with oil and sprinkled with salt and pepper until browned at the edges. Some chips will be crispy and others a bit chewier, depending on their thickness, but all of them are delicious!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2011 11:05 am

    Great blog!

    • October 9, 2011 5:19 pm

      Thanks so much! I’m glad you’re enjoying it. I’m loving reading through your “Missions” – so many of them have been endless searches for me too (Mexican food, good mac and cheese…!

Leave a Reply

