Skip to content

Make-Ahead Breakfast: Creamy Rice Pudding

September 5, 2011

[Neither of these ‘make-ahead’ recipes is the most gourmet thing I will post on here – in fact, they almost make me sound like a homemaker! Thankfully, however, I am not preparing them for my (non-existent) hubby and my (non-existent) little tots, but only for myself. I’m hoping that during my first week of grad school, I can rely on them to help me avoid a bit of cooking and prep work].

I had some dessert rice pudding at an Indian restaurant I visited with my Mom in Providence the other day, and she reminded me how much I always enjoyed eating my Grandma’s rice pudding for breakfast. This isn’t exactly her recipe, but its pretty close (more unhealthy and thus even more delicious…)

  • 3/4 cup uncooked white rice
  • 2 cups milk, divided
  • 3 tbsp honey
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2/3 cup golden raisins
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  1. In a medium saucepan, bring 1 1/2 cups water to a boil. Add rice and stir. Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 20 minutes.
  2. In another saucepan, combine 1 1/2 cups cooked rice, 1 1/2 cups milk, honey and salt. Cook over medium heat until thick and creamy, 15 to 20 minutes. Stir in remaining 1/2 cup milk, beaten egg and raisins. Cook 2 minutes more, stirring constantly. Remove from heat, and stir in butter and vanilla. Serve warm.
One Comment leave one →
  1. September 8, 2011 11:16 am

    My mom (I was going to say “and I” but it was really just her) used to make a really similar breakfast dish that we called Morning Rice and Raisins. It’s almost the same ingredients, I think, but we would put it in the slow cooker the night before so it would be ready for the morning! It was always so great to wake up to the smell…

Leave a Reply

