Skip to content

“The Woman in White” Bean and Rosemary Spread

August 22, 2011
by

The other week, I was in Burgoo, an amazing restaurant with some pretty gourmet comfort food and a seasonal menu. I love that every time I go, there are different delicious things on the menu for me to taste and/or recreate at home! Another huge plus is that their menu is pretty descriptive, so it’s easy to borrow their great ideas. One of the new items last time was a white bean dip with rosemary and although I didn’t even order it, I thought it was definitely worth attempting at home. So I’m afraid I can’t tell you how it stacks up against the original, but I can tell you that despite the blandness in colour palette, it’s wonderful!

White Bean and Rosemary Spread

one can of white beans, drained and mashed/blended until almost smooth
1 sprig of rosemary, leaves finely chopped (reserve a few for garnish)
1 tbsp olive oil (use the good stuff if you can – I always keep a bottle of excellent olive oil on hand for this sort of thing and then use the ultra-cheap pomace olive oil for cooking)
salt and pepper

Optional Variations:
1/4 cup grated parmesan (I forgot to include this but I’m sure it would have been delicious)
Lemon juice and/or lemon zest
1/4 tsp chili flakes

Serve With: Pita chips, crostini, baguette

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

