Skip to content

“The Three Mousse-keteers” Triple Layer Cake

August 13, 2011

It was Hélène’s birthday on Tuesday and luckily, I was able to shoo her out of the house on Monday to construct this cake! It wasn’t too time consuming, which is always nice in a layer cake, but it definitely felt like something special.

This cake was pretty significant for me because it was the first time I’d ever really came up with a baking recipe! I followed recipes for proportions and such, but the idea was mine, and I’m really  not always the best innovator with sweets.

Vanilla Bean Génoise

Adapted from Mon Cours de Cuisine: Les Gâteaux Maison

I followed a French recipe for this so was using only gram measurements. But because I’m kindly, I looked up all the conversions for you all! You would thank me if you knew how much of a drag this was (different foods have different conversion ratios).

30 grams (2 tbsp) butter, melted then cooled slightly
1 vanilla bean, cut lengthwise (or 1 tsp vanilla extract, but it’s a little sadder)

Place the vanilla bean lengths in the butter as it is melting. Once the butter has cooled, scrape the inside of the vanilla bean to get out all the black spots you can. Remove the vanilla pods.

3 eggs
85 grams (1/2 cup plus 2 tbsp) powdered sugar

Beat these ingredients together until a frothy white layer forms on top (check this by letting it sit for 30 seconds – you should hardly be able to see the yellow!).

85 grams (1/2 cup plus 2 tbsp) flour
a pinch of sea salt

Add the butter and the two dry ingredients in bit by bit (I did them in three parts), stirring into the egg mixture.

Pour into a buttered and floured pan and bake at 350 for 30 minutes or until the top is just golden.

Fruit Layer

I played it pretty simple here, chopping strawberries (cut lengthwise, then across for thin pieces that don’t layer awkwardly) and letting them sit tossed with some sugar. I would also recommend cherries with a liqueur, blackberries and mint (Hélène thinks this is a terrible idea, so I’ll try to make something like this soon to test it out!) or just a berry mixture.

Spread the fruit over the cake in an even layer.

Chocolate Mousse

From a Nestlé Dessert: Chocolat Noir packaging recipe, oddly enough

200 grams dark chocolate
6 eggs
a pinch of sea salt

Melt the chocolate over very low heat until just melted. Let it sit while you prepare the eggs.

Separate the eggs and briefly beat the egg yolks.

Beat the whites with the pinch of salt until stiff peaks form. Hopefully you have a better whisk handle than I do – I ended up with blisters!

Slowly pour the chocolate in a thin stream into the egg yolks. This crazy thick texture will form – don’t freak out.

Fold in the egg whites in 4 or 5 parts. The first couple will be pretty hard to incorporate, but it gets easier after that.

Pour on top of the fruit and set the cake to chill in the fridge for at least 3 hours.

Marbled Fruit Topping

Because the strawberries are hidden by the mousse, I thought it would be nice to reveal the flavours on the top of the cake with some chocolate covered strawberries. I marbled them by drizzling a bit of white chocolate into the dark chocolate before swirling the fruit. If I were to do it again, I’d probably drizzle the dark into the white chocolate because I found the white got a little buried. I also threw in some chocolate covered cherries, only for deliciousness factor.

This cake serves a zillion people so get ready to invite some people over, or invest in a 5″ springform!

Happy Birthday, Hélène!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 15, 2011 5:38 pm

    Update: I think this cake is better at room temperature – keep it in the fridge, but bring it out half and hour or so before serving. The genoise is a lot less chewy and more spongey-delicious, flavoured with the juice from the strawberries!

Leave a Reply

