Skip to content

The Blue Period: Blueberry Salsa with Blue Corn Chips

June 8, 2011
by

For Game 4 of the Stanley Cup Final series, Hélène and I were invited to a potluck where everyone had to bring monochromatic food. I was having visions of eggplant salad with red wine vinegar dressing, summer squash with saffron, even a green salad – endless easy and interesting colours…but unfortunately, we signed up mega late and ended up with blue.

I would like to note that while Picasso managed to paint in blue for three years, there are shockingly few blue foods, especially ones that go together. I had to cheat a bit making just one dish! As Picasso might appreciate, however, I stuck to my colour wheel and made sure to add only yellow and green.

Reminiscent of yesterday’s Mango Salsa, this Blueberry Salsa is a surprising twist on the usual both in the bowl and in the mouth! Very easy to make and will definitely make an impression at potlucks or as an appetizer to almost any fresh summer meal.

Blueberry Salsa

1 cup blueberries
1 avocado, finely chopped
1/2 yellow pepper, diced
minced jalapeno
juice from 1/2 lime
salt and pepper

I doubt anyone else will ever be called upon to make an all-blue dish, but if so, here you have it!

On another note, in case anyone is wondering why I’m posting so much this week, I leave for Europe on Monday and am trying to get all my posts in now! While I’m gone, the ball will definitely be in Katie’s court.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 16, 2011 9:02 am

    I just realized that I also could have called this “Blue at First Light”.

Leave a Reply

