Skip to content

Black Bean Burgers

May 31, 2011
by

Because I’ve been a vegetarian for my whole life, I never really got burgers. I wasn’t a big fan of mushrooms (still kind of working on that…) so portobello mushroom burgers were out and I just never got exposed to a really good homemade veggie burger. LUCKILY I’m now a total convert. I’ve been feeding these to my vegetarian and non-vegetarian friends alike, because I think they’re among the minority of veggie burgers that are legitimately good in their own right, and not just as a substitute for something meant to be meat.

As a side note, I’m gearing up for the Stanley Cup Finals here and this is excellent hockey food. It also happened to be good Jane Austen Book Club food but we don’t have to talk about that.

Black Bean Patties
1-2 cans black beans depending on how many burgers you want to make  (1.5 cans made 6 small patties)
Minced onions or red onions to taste (about half is good)
Handful of cilantro
Cornmeal
1-2 tbsp oregano
1-2 tbsp chili powder
1-2 tsp garlic powder
Salt and pepper

Wash all the beans thoroughly and fully drain (they drier they are the better). I’ve made the mistake of using barely drained beans and it’s a total mess in the pan. Put half in the food processor along with the onions, half the cilantro, cornmeal, and herbs/spices. Blend thoroughly.

By hand, mix in the remainder of the beans and the cilantro. If all has gone well, it should be relatively stiff and hard to mix. This is great! For the first time yesterday, I was able to form the patties by hand.

Optional Ingredients:
1 egg
Baking powder
Bread crumbs in place of all or half the cornmeal
Cayenne for spicy burgers!

Heat oil on medium heat in a pan and cook patties on each side until browned. Keep a low oven (200) going while you make them all.

Burgers
Caramelized onions (I often deglaze the pan with a splash wine right at the end because it’s just so delicious that way!)
Sliced tomatoes
Arugula
Avocado
Old cheddar or gouda cheese
Dijon mustard
Mayo

Make With: Arugula and Cherry Tomato Salad with Parmesan*, Home Fries (I love the FoodHappy post!), Mango Salsa (if you’re eating the patties alone)

*Note: Grating rather than shaving parmesan can do wonders for a salad, particularly arugula salads as this salad green can be a bit bitter on its own. Great with a balsamic vinaigrette.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kaitlin Blanchard permalink
    May 31, 2011 8:44 pm

    Thank you Allie!!! I’ve been looking for a good black bean recipe for a while now! They are hard suckers to make stick together, thanks for the tips.
    I super-love that you’ve been a veggie your whole life. Black bean burgers saved my life: my family are red-meat hounds and I gave up eating the stuff when I left home, and I had to find something that wasn’t soy-based to supplement with when I was at home (I’m allergic to soy.). These burgers are great too for someone on a low-sodium, low fat diet. (like my dad!)
    And yay to the finals!

  2. Allen permalink
    June 1, 2011 12:17 pm

    They were absolutely delicious. I’ve never been that big of a red-meat burger fan, and this just gives me one more reason to go veggie!

  3. Blake permalink
    June 2, 2011 5:21 pm

    Silken tofu will help keep the burger patties from falling apart after being cooked. :)

Leave a Reply

